Clear all

Understanding Velocity Depth vs Offset

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
Antony
Estimable Member
Topic starter

I have some questions. As a beginner, my ability to control my fingers and get precise velocities is limited.

Q1: For a Single Element, No Velocity Limit set (Vel limit = 1-127). If I play very soft vs very hard, does the resultant key velocity trigger different sounds (samples within the key bank) or is it just the same sound, but quieter vs louder?

I can't tell if what I hear is a different sample, or just the same sample, but fuller/richer because its louder and I am hearing more of the detail.

For comparison: In relation to Q1, I notice some Preset, Multi-Element Parts (Pianos are good example) there are various elements stacked, each with its own velocity range - for example Piano v.soft, soft, medium, hard, v.hard each with respectively higher velocity ranges. In this case, the sound and loudness definitely changes - I can see that and I understand the mechanism.

Q2: In the Part Edit General Screen, If I adjust Velocity Depth Higher, I thought I can make it send higher velocity values, without hitting the keys really hard... but that results (exaggerating the point) makes everything louder. And it seems to have a similar result with Velocity offset. How can I increase sensitivity, but keep the main elements the same volume?

Why?
Within the same Part, I want to be able to trigger certain elements only if I play hard, but at the same time I don't want the mainstay part to jump up in volume or change sound/Timbre. Case in point, I want to play Synth Brass Pad and slightly different Synth Brass Lead (mainstay parts), but if I play harder at certain points (on either pad or lead) I want Strings to float in over the top. I would have Strings set to high velocity range (e.g. 110-127).

I suppose I'm trying to set up a pseudo "after touch" type effect.

Posted : 26/01/2021 2:44 am
Bad Mister