Clear all

MONTAGE 6 AND MONTAGE 7 BUYER RECOMMENDATION

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 Tho
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Since you guys bought MONTAGE 6 AND MONTAGE 7 already, which one would you recommend to buy?

I am going to buy me one during today but I really consider to the key ranges and key actions between Montage 6 and Montage 7, If i buy Montage 6 so i can save $500 dollars...because i thought that Montage 6 is disadvantage for the live play cause you have to use the Octave button a lot for your play So I don't know which one is the best.

Please advise !

Thank you
Tho

Posted : 05/09/2016 1:41 pm
Rod
 Rod
Estimable Member

Hello Tho - I'm no expert, not even a pro, but I've dabbled in synths for 30 years, and there is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that the 76 key keyboard is well worth the extra money. You don't keep running out of room! I am also a fan of the synth key feel, and prefer it to piano weighting, so don't go for the 88 key models on that basis.

Posted : 05/09/2016 1:59 pm
 Tho
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Thanks Rob,
So I go with 76 keys as your recommendation I guess...I don't want to feel regret when I buy the 61keys even though I can save $500 dollars, But I dont want 88keys because the weight to carry out for live show.

Thanks

Posted : 05/09/2016 2:15 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member

I'm coming from a 61 note keyboard - the MO6 and had the same set of tradeoffs to ponder. The fully weighted 88 keybed is very responsive and "light" relative to the MOXF8's - I greatly prefer the Montage8 feel over just about anything.

However, as a gigging musician, the weight of the Montage8 was what forced me into deciding between the 6 and the 7. Not to mention, I'm a 2nd key player in the band and therefore have limited space that was previously occupied by a 61-key which would sometimes be a squeeze - so size was a secondary reason to decide against the 88-key.