Clear all

Organ DrawBar Control on SuperKnob

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Antony
Estimable Member
Topic starter

This is more of an appeal to your musical, rather than technical, knowledge. I remind you that I am a keyboard novice.

This may be of interest to you, please advise if you like the challenge, and I will make available whatever solutions I develop.

I would like to program the Super Knob to provide an excursion through popular/essential draw bar settings in one complete rotation.

1) Please can you provide a list of commonly favoured draw bar settings in the form of:-

8.8.8.8.0.0.6.6.2 etc

2) Since there are only 8 elements, but nine drawbars, 2 drawbars will need to operate in tandem. Any recommendations on which two should be assigned to one control? e.g. the first two, 1 and 6 etc.

I have noticed you can set "movement" patterns for the Super Knob, such that 1 single rotation of the Super knob can make an Assign Knob cycle from Zero to Full to Zero, maybe 2 or 3 times.

The goal would be to have the Super Knob act almost like a selection wheel.

Its a bit of a lateral thinking puzzle, but I think I am up to it.

Cheers,

Tony.

Posted : 11/01/2021 12:53 pm
Darryl
Prominent Member

I would like to program the Super Knob to provide an excursion through popular/essential draw bar settings in one complete rotation.

I'm not a true Hammond organ guy, but I recently completed tweaking a bunch of organs based off of the Organimation organs. They have customized User curves for volume control of the elements. It kind of does something similar to what you're looking to do, but it would be quite difficult to use the SuperKnob to do exactly what you want, but it may be possible.

1) Please can you provide a list of commonly favoured draw bar settings in the form of:-

888800000 is a fairly common one as I understand it
688600000 is supposedly a Whiter Shade of Pale
100000001 is a common gospel or church organ