Notifications
Clear all

Two synth instruments on a single note

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 paul
Topic starter

With a split keyboard I'd like to play Rhodes in lower and synth in right.

Except the synth has flute and violin .... on the same note.

How can I create distinct instrument sounds (2 in this scenario) in real-time...on-stage? I know about stereo amplifiers (eg Spacestation) and am willing to use one if needed.
Someone told me I must pan the two synth sounds away from ea other. How can this be done in the Montage or other models?
Prefer an easy board as I can get, as I have little digital experience and have to get a demo recording done ASAP. The band is a quartet and the music calls for wind and strings, a lot.

Posted : 02/03/2019 5:55 am
Jason
Illustrious Member

There is no absolute need to pan your instruments within the stereo field. You can - that's up to you - but a split would mean low notes from the bottom piano key to some key near middle C (or wherever you want the split point to be) will play one set of sounds and anything from the split point up will play the other set of sounds.

It sounds like you want the right hand to have flute+violin+synth. All at the same time (layered) - or one of those (flute OR violin OR synth) at a time?

This video shows creating a split. https://youtu.be/WIumqa4bEZA?t=97

or this one which shows more modern firmware:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uy23zJWqXpE

Posted : 02/03/2019 7:30 am
Prominent Member

Paul, as Jason says, you can layer sounds without panning. In that other thread, you asked about layering two sounds "with distinct clarity" and I suggested that you can increase the distinct clarity between two layered sounds by placing them at slightly different locations in the stereo field, (which also obviously requires some kind of stereo amplification). However, it is not a "must."