Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Why does Montage make recording a simple MIDI track so darn difficult........

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hey people

I am very new to the world of Montage but so far it seems so intuitive to do the simplist thing, recording a simple midi track.

All I want to do is record what I play and here when using the montage in standalone mode the way it does when not connected to any DAW into a MIDI track when connected to my DAW, I am just trying to record some of the ARP sounds.

I prefer to use Ableton Live 9, so I have my montage set to receive Midi Sync as MIDI and sending the sync from Ableton, the tempo matches initially, yet while I play a track back I watch the tempo on Montage drift up and down by one BPM so if the project is set to 120BPM Montage keeps changing to 119 and 121 on it's screen?

Then we come to the sound..

No matter what setting I use Standalone, MIDI Rec on DAW, ARP Rec on DAW when I press record on my DAW montage either doesnt play the sound correctly, its like its missing so many elements of the sound, then sometimes I just get some weird arp noises, other times the notes are received but when played back nothing, no sound at all, other times the Montage seems to do its own thing and is playing the arps out of time with the projects BPM.

I must be missing something but why is it so difficult to do the simplest of things?

I just wanna record what I hear into a MIDI track so I can correct any mistakes with notes or timing but I cant make it work..... I am so frustrated.

Sure its linked to Cubase being a Yamaha / Steinberg product which is cool as I have Cubase 9 Pro as well, but I prefer Ableton as my go to DAW.

I would appreciate any nudge in the right direction.

Many thanks

Posted : 15/09/2017 8:28 pm
Bad Mister

For a nudge, what "sound" was it you were trying to record?

Posted : 15/09/2017 10:26 pm
Jason
Illustrious Member