Synth Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Difficulty connecting MOXF8 to Ableton Live

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi, I am trying to connect my MOXF8 to Ableton Live on a Macbook Pro. I am a total newbie and need assistance connecting the MOXF8 to my MBP and setting parameters in Ableton Live to get the sounds from my MOXF8. Could anyone help please? Thanks

Posted : 01/02/2018 11:50 pm

Hi - connect a USB cable from the output of your MBP to the TO HOST jack on the back of the MOXF. Turn on the MOXF, open Ableton Live. In Ableton, go the Live menu entry, and a sub-menu will open. Select Preferences. When the Preferences panel opens, go to the second entry for Audio. For the Audio Input device select the MOXF, and do the same for Audio Output Device. If you do not see the MOXF as a possible selection I think it is because you haven't downloaded and installed (on your MBP) the Steinberg driver from usa.yamaha.com website. Once you have the driver installed it will work.

If you need help further let me know.

David J.

Posted : 02/02/2018 3:47 am

One last point I forgot to mention; when you open up the Preferences in Ableton Live you'll probably see five different listings for the MOXF, corresponding to "Port 1" through "Port 5". Pick Port 1 for both input and output. By the way, Cubase is very tightly integrated with the MOXF and works great, and I highly recommend using Cubase (over Ableton) for recording from the MOXF. I do use Ableton Live for my live performance. David

Posted : 02/02/2018 12:00 pm
Topic starter

Hi David,