Notifications
Clear all

I might need a simpler instrument

80 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
Michael Trigoboff
Honorable Member

I started out with a Motif XF in 2011, started with Cubase around 2014, and I switched to a Montage in 2016.

Combining either a Motif XF or a Montage with Cubase creates a very complex situation with many possible interactions. It takes quite a while to climb that learning curve. I am a retired software engineer and I am good at understanding and using technology. But it took me around 8 years to get to the point where when I tried something new I didn't immediately fall into a 2-week hole of confusion until I figured that next thing out. I am just now starting to feel like I have achieved some level of mastery with Cubase and the Montage.

This is very complex technology that can be challenging to learn. It's difficult for all of us, at all of our different skill levels. People around here are willing and able to provide high-quality help. All you need to do is ask.

Posted : 18/08/2021 10:10 pm
Michael Trigoboff
Honorable Member

I just looked into this. Recording automation from a Montage into Cubase has a few steps.

First of all, the Montage has to be in MIDI Single mode, because otherwise when you turn the Cutoff knob you get SysEx messages instead of CC messages. It has to be CC messages for Cubase to be able to record automation.

Then in Cubase, you have to set up MIDI Controller Automation to handle the CC 74 (Brightness) messages produced by turning the Cutoff knob. CC 74 has to be set to Automation Track.

Then you have to have the red and green automation controls turned on for the MIDI track.

That’s all I have time for right now. I can go into more detail if you like sometime tomorrow. I could upload a sample project if that would help.

Posted : 19/08/2021 3:51 am
 Fred
Trusted Member

Hi Gabi,